Raspberry PI – Getting started with my Christmas Present

I received a Raspberry PI for Christmas.  The first order is to decide what to distribution to use.   I’ve started with downloading RASPBIAN and raspbmc.  I’ll need to pick up a second SD card and load one distributions per card.

The problem I’ve ran into is the download of the Raspbian image due to a network error (time-out?).  I have upgraded my system and home network to be able to take advantage of my hi-speed internet service.

Of course, I also need to download a utility to create disk images on SD cards.  So,  I’m 1&1/2 hours into “getting started” and so far, little progress – I’ve cleaned off a project table, do and listed

The hard part is deciding what project/projects to start with – streaming content server, reading temperature sensors.

Leave a Reply

